I haven’t read Moby Dick…

I’ve tried, but I never could read that book. It bothered me a little, just like it bothers me that I haven’t read War and Peace, never tried to even. I don’t like Dickens. I haven’t read Thomas Hardy or Henry James. I didn’t like Middlemarch, I hated Wuthering Heights and I found it very hard to read James Joyce.

These are all great authors and wonderful books. But I haven’t read them or if I did, I didn’t like them all that much. The first big issue for me, I think,  is that I’m not particularly fond of fiction, which does not of course, explain why I am fond of Jane Austen, Aldous Huxley, Marcel Proust, Conan Doyle, Stevenson or even P G Wodehouse, for that matter.

I think it is a matter of personal taste. While it is important to me that a book be written well, that alone is not enough. A book may have a lot of literary merit, but I cannot read it unless I actually like some of the people in it it. This is true for biographies as well. If I do not particularly like the person or the people that a book is about, I’m going to find it tough going.

That may not sound like a very mature way of looking at it, but the way I see it, if I am not enjoying a book, I see no reason whatsoever to keep reading it. And I will certainly never read a book just so I can say I have read it.

5 thoughts on “I haven’t read Moby Dick…

  1. I think it comes down to personal tastes as well as the period in which the books were written.The books you say you don’t like belong to the 19th century,while those you like come from the post-modernist era.
    I think many other persons share the same opinion towards those archaic classics!

Leave a Comment

