Teaser Tuesdays : Still Foolin ‘Em by Billy Crystal

image

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Should be Reading. The idea is to share a few teaser sentences from a book that you’re currently reading.

The book I have chosen for this week is Still Foolin ‘Em by Billy Crystal.

image

This is the way the book begins:

March 14, 2013, my sixty-fifth birthday. I got up that morning, padded over to the bathroom, threw some water on my face, looked in the mirror, and my uncle Al was staring back at me. My scream brought Janice, my wife of forty-two years, running in.

I kept yelling, “HOLY SHIT! What the fuck happened to me?” Somehow, overnight it seemed, I had turned from a hip, cool baby boomer into a Diane Arbus photograph. I looked at Janice for an encouraging word, for a hug, for an “It’s okay, Billy, you look great. It’s an old mirror.”

All she did was glance down at my robe, which had opened up, and ask: “When did your pubic hair turn grey?

That got me. The book is full of laugh out loud moments like this even as it tells a solid story. I’m only ninety pages into it, but I like it so far…

3 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays : Still Foolin ‘Em by Billy Crystal

Leave a Comment

