How do you decide what to read next?

This is the question of the week on Making up for Monday, a week long meme hosted by An Avid Reader; A Wannabe Writer.

image

How do I decide? It depends on my mood. I always have a long list of books I want to read and I keep adding to it. So I look through my TBR list and pick something that I’m in the mood for.

I usually have a minimum of three books going at a time because there is no telling which of them I will want to pick up at any given time.

I am also not particularly driven to finish books. I read most books at one go, but there are others that I like to dip into and read a little of and then I go on to something else.

I guess it helps that a lot of the books I read are non-fiction and can be read in bits and pieces…

I am not comfortable reading time sensitive books. The very fact that there is a deadline by which I need to finish the book is likely to rob me of my enjoyment of it. That is why I don’t do so well with library books. I often end up returning them unread or half read.

2 thoughts on “How do you decide what to read next?

  1. I often have a non-fiction books that can be put down running alongside any fiction books I’m reading. But it’s really rare for me to have two fiction books going, because I get so engrossed in the story. Sometimes picking the next book to read can be so hard! I find it most difficult after reading a really good book, because the next book has to live in its shadow.

    • I can’t read two fiction books at the same time either. And I totally agree with what you said about finding it hard to pick a book after reading a really good one…

Leave a Comment

