It is readathon time again…

This is my third 24 in 48 readathon and I am totally looking forward to it…24 hours of reading over a weekend (22nd and 23rd July). I did this for the first time last July and then again this January. I will, of course, jump at anything that gives me a reason or an excuse to read more. And considering that one of the things I miss most about being a kid is the freedom to pick up a book and read for hours on end, a readathon is the perfect excuse to do so.

But I did have another reason to sign up for this, as I think I mentioned in the post I did about the readathon last year. It was to give my kids an experience of the kind of immersive reading that only happens when you read for a few hours at a stretch. They tried it and they loved it and now they are looking forward to it every bit as much as I am.

And this time I have got my sister and my husband to join us as well. Us adults are aiming for anything from six to twelve hours. My kids are, of course, going for the full twenty four. I will be posing updates as we go and now, I’m going to do a round-up of all the books that we’re trying to read.

I am, at the moment, reading Parnassus on Wheels by Christopher Morley. I am thoroughly enjoying it and I’m a third of the way through the book, so this is my first book for the readathon.

 

My second book is A Terrible Splendor : Three Extraordinary Men, A World Poised for War and The Greatest Tennis Match Ever Played by Marshall Jon Fisher. 

My husband is reading Stephen King’s Dark Tower series. He’s on book two : The Drawing of the Three.

My sister is going to be reading Astrophysics for People in a Hurry by Neil DeGrasse Tyson.

My son is reading Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers by J R R Tolkien.

And my daughter is reading Magnus Chase: The hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan.

Here’s looking forward to a weekend of reading. And thanks to Rachel at 24 in 48 Readathon for dreaming this up. It is wonderful to put everything else aside for one weekend every six months and just read. If you want to know more about this readathon and how it works and better still, if you want to join us, sign up here: 24 in 48 Readathon.

 

 

Leave a Comment

